2013 AFCF CEO Coach of the Year - Rex W. Tillerson, ExxonMobil CEO

AFCF Contact: Vince Thompson, Director of Media Relations


 WACO, TEXAS - The American Football Coaches Foundation today announced that Rex W. Tillerson, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of ExxonMobil Corporation, is the 2013 recipient of its CEO Coach of the Year Award.

This is the highest honor bestowed by the organization, whose inaugural recipient in 2006 was Jeffrey R. Immelt, the CEO of General Electric. Former Domino's Pizza CEO David Brandon, former MidAmerican Energy Holdings CEO David Sokol, former HP CEO Mark Hurd, FedEx Corp. Chairman and CEO Frederick W. Smith, BP Capital L.P. Chairman and CEO T. Boone Pickens and NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell received the honor in 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, and 2012, respectively.

"Leadership and motivation are essential to those who work with young people across America," said Grant Teaff, AFCA Executive Director. "When we have an example like Rex Tillerson, who leads one of the largest corporations in the world, and who cares deeply about education, show his support of the American Football Coaches Association's, and the American Football Coaches Foundation's effort towards educating our coaches so that they may be better tomorrow, and they in turn may make those students they work with better in the same way."

"It is a great honor to be selected for this award," said Mr. Tillerson. "Coaches and CEOs have been given a unique leadership opportunity to bring out the best in their respective teams or companies. Through leadership and hard work, we strive for success to make a positive difference for individuals and for the communities where we work and play."

A native of Wichita Falls, Texas, Rex W. Tillerson assumed the position of Chairman and CEO of ExxonMobil Corporation on January 1, 2006. He joined Exxon Company U.S.A. in 1975 as a production engineer after earning a bachelor of science degree in civil engineering at the University of Texas at Austin. Mr. Tillerson became general manager of Exxon Company U.S.A.'s central production division, responsible for oil and gas production operations throughout a large portion of Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas and Kansas, in 1989.

In 1992, Mr. Tillerson was named production advisor to Exxon Corporation. Three years later, he was named president of Exxon Yemen Inc. and Esso Exploration and Production Khorat Inc., and in January 1998 became vice president of Exxon Ventures (CIS) Inc. and president of Exxon Neftegas Limited. In those roles, he was responsible for Exxon's holdings in Russia and the Caspian Sea as well as the Sakhalin I consortium operations offshore Sakhalin Island, Russia.

In December 1999, he became executive vice president of ExxonMobil Development Company. Mr. Tillerson was named senior vice president of Exxon Mobil Corporations in August 2001, and was elected president of the corporation and member of the board of directors on March 1, 2004.

Mr. Tillerson is a member of the executive committee and a former chairman of the American Petroleum Institute, as well a member of the Society of Petroleum Engineers and a trustee of the Center for Strategic and International Studies. He is also a member of the National Petroleum Council, a member of the Business Roundtable, a member of the Business Council, an honorary trustee of the Business Council for International Understanding, and a member of the Emergency Committee for American Trade. In 2013, Mr. Tillerson was elected to the National Academy of Engineering.

Mr. Tillerson is the vice-chairman of the Ford's Theatre Society, immediate past national president of the Boy Scouts of America, and a former director of the United Negro College Fund. He is also a member of the Chancellor's Council, Development Board and the Engineering Advisory Board of the University of Texas at Austin, where he was named a distinguished alumnus in 2007. In 2011, he received an honorary doctorate engineering degree from the Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

The funds raised from the CEO Coach of the Year dinner will support the AFCF's education initiatives through the American Football Coaches Association's publications, website and national convention. More than 6,000 football coaches from all levels attend the national convention, and more than 11,000 football coaches globally benefit through personal, technical and leadership development. Because of The Foundation, football coaches on all levels nationwide pay minimal membership dues.

The AFCF, a 501 (c) (3) nonprofit organization, was established by the American Football Coaches Association in 1998 to fund its education mission. Its specific responsibility is to seek contributions from a broad range of donors - friends, businesses, corporations, foundations and trusts, to support and implement existing AFCA education programs; and, to develop exciting and dynamic new initiatives that will serve the coaches, the student-athletes, and the schools they represent. Contributions generated by The Foundation will ensure that the coaching community will continue to have the finest possible professional development and educational tools, now and in the future.

“Coach George Smith is not only an influence on young people, but the influence is multiplied many times in the beliefs of the young people he helped mold into amazing human beings. George is an outstanding coach, but more importantly, he is an outstanding gentleman.” —Tina Jones, Principal of St. Thomas Aquinas High School