2017 Recipient: Allan Trimble, Jenks (Okla.) High School

AFCA Contact: Vince Thompson, Director of Media Relations


Jenks (Okla.) High School head coach Allan Trimble has been named the recipient of the 2017 Power of Influence Award, presented by TeamSnap. Trimble was nominated by the Oklahoma Coaches Association. Presented jointly by the American Football Coaches Association® and the American Football Coaches Foundation®, the award will be given to Trimble at the 2018 AFCA Convention in Charlotte, North Carolina. 

The Power of Influence award was created as a way for the AFCA® and AFCF® to honor a deserving high school football coach. Coaches who receive this award are recognized for their impact on their team and players, as well as the legacy they leave with the school and surrounding community. This award is not based on wins and losses; however, it should be noted that coaches of powerful influence have longevity and success. This is the first AFCA award specifically designed to honor a high school coach.

“Being selected by the AFCA as the 2017 Power of Influence Award winner is a humbling and life changing experience for me and my family, especially when I reflect on the number of great coaches and players who I’ve had the privilege to work alongside during my career,” Trimble said. “Looking back, I pray that lives were influenced in a positive way and this mentorship process continues to grow and reciprocate. Football is the greatest classroom a young man can participate in.”

To say that Allan Trimble has built a football powerhouse at Jenks High School is an understatement. In his 21-plus years as the head coach, Trimble has guided the Trojans to 13 6A state championships, an Oklahoma 6A record, four 6A runner-up finishes and 16 District championships. He has an overall record of 251-40 and produced an Oklahoma 6A record of 39 straight wins from 1999 to 2002. In his first six seasons as the head coach, Jenks won six straight state championships, which is another Oklahoma 6A record, to go along with 25 consecutive playoff victories, also a 6A record. 

Trimble started his coaching career in 1987 as the inside linebacker coach at Owasso (Okla.) High School.  He added the title of tight ends coach, then defensive coordinator, before leaving to join Jenks as secondary coordinator in 1990. Trimble became the Trojans offensive line coach in 1991, then was named offensive coordinator in 1993 before taking over as head coach in 1996. He also served as the head boys and girls track coach at Jenks in 1995 and assistant athletic director from 1998-2000. 

As you can imagine, Trimble has earned numerous awards and coach of the year honors during his legendary career. In 2016, he was named US Cellular Most Valuable Coach and was inducted into the Northeastern State University (Okla.) Athletic Hall of Fame. Trimble is a three-time Tulsa World Coach of the Year and was inducted into the Oklahoma Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2015. He has also been named Russell Athletic National Coach of the Year, American Sporting News National Coach of the Year and American Football Monthly Coach of the Year, just to name a few.  

Trimble’s success goes well beyond the football field. He focuses on building character and leadership among his players and coaches with multiple leadership programs. Trimble also has a passion for giving back to his community and to those in need. He has taken his football players on multiple mission trips to New Orleans to help assist in the rebuilding of some of that city’s most impoverished areas. In addition, Trimble leads his football team in an effort to package meals for starving children across the world. 

Stacey Butterfield, Ed.D., Superintendent of Jenks Public Schools, wrote in his letter of recommendation, “Coach Trimble’s powerful influence spans from the football field, locker room and weight room, to the classroom, football clinics and non-profit organizations. While he is recognized and respected as an award-winning football coach, people who interact with Allan quickly realize his life embodies so much more, including his true desire to make this world a better place.”

Other finalists for this year’s award were: Graham Clark, Dobyns Bennett (Tenn.) H.S.; Billy Dawson, Fayetteville (Ark.) H.S.; Michael Flakus, Aberdeen Central (S.D.) H.S.; Larry Hill, Smithson Valley (Texas) H.S.; Mark Hodge, Chapman (S.C.) H.S.; Mitch Johnson, Fountain-Fort Carson (Colo.) H.S.; James Kelliher, Abington (Mass.) H.S.; Chris Knudsen, Centennial (Ore.) H.S.; John Roderique, Webb City (Mo.) H.S.; and Jeff Schlieff, Spring Lake Park (Minn.) H.S.

Past Power of Influence Award winners include: Larry Dippel, Amarillo (Texas) H.S. (2002); John McKissick, Summerville (S.C.) H.S. (2003); Marcus Borden, East Brunswick (N.J.) H.S. (2004); Ron Stolski, Brainerd (Minn.) H.S. (2005); Sid Otton, Tumwater (Wash.) H.S. (2006); Rob Younger, Sweet Home (Ore.) H.S. (2007); George Smith, St. Thomas Aquinas (Fla.) H.S. (2008); Jim Drewry, Booneville (Miss.) H.S. (2009); Brent Steuerwald, Shenendehowa (N.Y.) H.S. (2010); Noel Dean, Lowell (Mich.) H.S. (2011); Andy Lowry, Columbine (Colo.) H.S. (2012); Bob Burt, Cypress (Calif.) H.S. (2013), Ott Hurrle, Scecina Memorial (Ind.) H.S. (2014), Sam Harrell, Fort Worth Christian (Texas) H.S. (2015), and Tony DeMatteo, Somers (N.Y.) H.S. (2016). 

About TeamSnap

Founded in 2009 and headquartered in Boulder, Colorado, TeamSnap has taken the organization of youth, recreational and competitive sports into the 21st century. Almost 20 million coaches, administrators, players and parents use TeamSnap’s web and smartphone apps to sign up, schedule, communicate and coordinate everything for the team, the club and the season. TeamSnap makes organizing sports as simple as click, tap and go. For more information, visit www.teamsnap.com.


“Coach George Smith is not only an influence on young people, but the influence is multiplied many times in the beliefs of the young people he helped mold into amazing human beings. George is an outstanding coach, but more importantly, he is an outstanding gentleman.” —Tina Jones, Principal of St. Thomas Aquinas High School